My Plate

We have been having a lot of problems getting our kids to eat. It seems they’d rather pick at their food and make a mess, rather than eat it. So, I talked to a nutritionist. She showed me the child’s My Plate. As it turns out.. the kids probably do eat what they are supposed to, because their serving sizes are really small! I felt bad immediately, because we have been giving them servings that are too big and wondering why they don’t eat! Right them Hubby and I decided to buy the Balanced Meal Plate we saw at Walmart.

Image

These plates run $2.88 per plate at Walmart. I have checked online and they are not that easy to find. They are nice, sturdy plastic and can be washed in the dishwasher, top rack only.

My kids love them and so do I! It totally puts into perspective what they kids really need to eat, compared to what I thought they needed! It takes the guess work out of dinner time! It has helped immensely with the “not eating” problem, because it turns out, they were eating.. just the portions were too big so it looked like they weren’t.

I wanted to share this with you because I felt like a terrible parent for giving my kids too much food on their plates then getting mad because they didn’t eat it. And if there is anyone out there that feels the same way, I want you to know this simple trick that helped me NOT feel this way!! And if you don’t have the fund or can’t find a plate go to http://www.choosemyplate.gov/kids/ and you can print the plate out 🙂

I hope this helps any one who needs it!!

Leave a comment