The Glamorous Night Life

OK, that was a lie because last night was anything but glamorous. I’m certainly not glamorous after only 2 hours of sleep.

My son stayed home from school yesterday because he has had this bad cough. He started feeling better around 4pm, but his cough kicked in again last night around 11:45pm. I had only been asleep for about an hour, maybe an hour and a half before he woke me up coughing. I sat him up, gave him his inhaler and some cough meds. It took about 10 – 15 minutes to get his cough controlled then propped up to help him sleep better. By this time, I’m wide awake. I check on the girls, get a drink and hope that with a little Netflix, I’ll be able to fall back asleep. No such luck.

No matter what I did, I could not fall back to sleep. My back and head had started hurting so I took some pain meds and got the heating pad to help soothe my back. I figured that would help get me to sleep. Nope. I played on my Kindle, which is said to keep people awake, but I have fallen asleep plenty of times while playing in bed, but tonight was not one of those nights.

I tried music on, music off, TV show, movie, cuddled up to my hubby, on my back, on my stomach, on my sides – nothing. Then, A came into the bed. Well, with my back and head hurting, I wasn’t about to share my bed, so I laid her down in the toddler bed I keep in our room for this exact reason. Within an hour, she was back in my bed, so I carried her off to her bed. This happened 2 more times throughout the night.

*SIGH*

Then it was 5am. My husband’s alarm is going to go off in 20 minutes. I just lay there, waiting for it to go off. When it does, I tell him that I haven’t slept all night so don’t expect much in the way of housework being done today, because I’m going to sleep as much as I can before A gets home from school. My plan was to send M to school with his inhaler because he seems fine until the night time. Again, not so much. He got up shortly after 6 to more coughing and this time he’s coughing stuff up… *UGH!* So, now he’s going to be home all day and I have to try my best to manage with the little sleep I acquired before 11:45pm and then the bit of sleep that finally came between 5:30 and 6am.

I’m stumbling like a drunken woman while trying to get the girls ready for school. My eyes feel puffy and are only half open and if I lean too much one way.. I literally start to fall over. I call my mom and tell her I may be requiring my dad’s assistance due to lack of sleep. I’m hoping that because M didn’t sleep well, he’ll take a nap easily today, which means MOM can get a nap in too.

So, to keep myself awake – and alert – while waiting for A’s school bus, I’m here, typing and yawning. As soon as she’s on the bus, I’ve got a hot date with my comforter and the recliner. *yawn*

Leave a Reply

